BCCI announce full Ranji Trophy 2016-17 schedule

New Delhi: The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) on Saturday announced the full fixture list of the upcoming Indian domestic season for Seniors, juniors and women.

All games in the brand new Ranji Trophy 2016-17 season will be contested in neutral venues, according to the latest fixture list released by the BCCI.

BCCI’s technical committee, which is led by legendary former batsman Sourav Ganguly, had proposed the idea of holding the games of its premier domestic tournament at neutral venuews to make it more competitive and thrilling. According to the committee, neutral venues will nullify the home advantage as it will deny the hosts an opportunity to make pitches according to their own strengths.

According to the fixture list, the 83rd seaason of the Ranji Trophy will kick off from October 6 with the opening game featuring debutants Chhattisgarh facing Tripura in Ranchi. Chhatisgarah are the 10th team in Group C.

Group A and B will both have 9 team’s each. That makes for a 28-team mega event. Three teams each from Group A and B and two sides from Group C will go on to the quarterfinals which are to be held from December 17-21.

The semi-finals of the high profile tournament will be contested form December 17-31, with the final being slotted from January 7-11.

The limited overs competitions – Vijay Hazare Trophy ( 50 overs) and the Inter-zonal T20 tournament for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy will be played following the conclusion of the Ranji Trophy tournament.

Ranji Trophy 2016-17 groups

Group A: Mumbai, Baroda, Punjab, Madhya Pradesh, Bengal, Gujarat,Tamil Nadu, Railways, Uttar Pradesh
Group B: Saurashtra, Odisha, Delhi, Maharashtra, Assam, Vidarbha, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Jharkhand.
Group C: Hyderabad, Haryana,Kerala, Himachal Pradesh, Tripura, Services, Goa, J&K, Andhra, Chhattisgarh.



Leave a Comment