11 International players withdraw from PSL 2017

Cricket in Pakistan has never been 100% free of trouble, controversy or misfortunes. In an unfortunate round of events, 11 overseas players have ended up withdrawing themselves from the epic 2nd edition of Pakistan’s Premier domestic T20 tournament which kicked off with a bang in 2016.

West Indian powerhouse Dwayne Bravo, who is considered as one of the greatest ever T20 players, pulled out due to surgery which was needed following an injury he picked up during the 2016-17 Big Bash League, playing for the Melbourne Renegades. Bravo was one of the few positives for the sorry start to the Lahore Qalandars’ PSL history.

The Lahore-based mega frachise suffered two more blows with brand new signings Anton Devcich (New Zealand) and Shaun Tait (Australia) both pulling out due to fitness issues. Quetta Gladiators, who unexpectedly enjoyed a highly successful first edition, ending up as the finalists of the tournament, will have to go along with the 2nd edition without their star man Mohammad Nabi. Nabi was one of the standout performers for the Gladiators in the inaugural version. Nabi’s compatriot Mohammad Shahzad will also fail to make the team sheet, so will West Indian World T20 hero Carlos Brathwaite.

English pair David Willey and Alex Hales wont be part of Darren Sammy’s Peshawar Zalmi squad due to International duties. Shakin Al Hasan, who last year played for the Karachi Kings, was set to join his compatriot Tamim Iqbal to feature for the Zalmi, but the pair seemed to have withdrawn due to injuries.

The 11 International players who have pulled out of PSL 2017

  1. Dwayne Bravo (WI) (Lahore Qalandars)
  2. Anton Devcich (NZ) (Lahore Qalandars)
  3. Shaun Tait (AUS) (Lahore Qalandars)
  4. Carlos Brathwaite (WI) (Quetta Gladiators)
  5. Rovman Powell (WI) (Quetta Gladiators)
  6. Mohammad Nabi (AFG) (Quetta Gladiators)
  7. David Willey (ENG) (Peshawar Zalmi)
  8. Mohammad Shahzad (AFG) (Quetta Gladiators)
  9. Alex Hales (ENG) (Peshawar Zalmi)
  10. Shakib Al Hasan (BAN) (Peshawar Zalmi)
  11. Tamim Iqbal (BAN) (Peshawar Zalmi)



Leave a Comment