Australia squad remains unchanged for Brisbane Test vs Pakistan

Australian selectors have named an unaltered 12-man squad for the principal Test against Pakistan at the Gabba beginning on December 15.

After a mortifying misfortune in Hobart, Australia’s fifth straight Test misfortune, selectors used the hatchet and received a young driven strategy with a large portion of the squad being changed. The change yielded moment result with Australia recording a great eight-wicket triumph in the third Test against South Africa at the Adelaide Oval.

Debutant batsmen Matt Renshaw and Peter Handscomb inspired however kindred newcomer Nic Maddinson made a duck. Shaun Marsh, West Australian batsman, was not considered as he recuperates from a broken finger facilitating weight on Maddinson’s position.


Trevor Hohns, interim chief selector, said the young group merited another possibility “We were extremely satisfied with how the group met up in Adelaide after some critical changes taking after the Tests in Perth and Hobart,” he said on Thursday (December 8). “This is a youthful gathering with a considerable measure of guarantee and we trust all merit their chance again in this up and coming Test.”

Nathan Lyon, Australia’s occupant spinner, was in the weapon heading into Adelaide however a match-turning exertion late on day three of that Test has apparently restored his fortunes. In the most recent Shield coordinate against South Australia, Lyon took five wickets in NSW’s two-wicket misfortune to guarantee his position in the national group is protected.

Australia squad: Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Jackson Bird, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nic Maddinson, Nathan Lyon, Matthew Renshaw, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade.



Leave a Comment