BCCI announces India squad for South Africa test series

india squad south africa test series

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has announced a 17-men test squad for the upcoming Test series against South Africa. During India’s full tour of South Africa that commences in the last week of December, the team will play a 3-match Test series.

The first Test of the series against South Africa will be played on January 5. The selectors have tried and tested different combinations ahead of the big series. The core of the team remains pretty much the same as the one that is currently playing against Sri Lanka.

One big inclusion in the squad for the test series is of pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah. The pacer makes the cut as the BCCI was looking to get more pace bowling options for the tour. In addition to Bumrah, the other pacers in the squad are Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav, and Ishant Sharma.

Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are the two spinners in the squad, while there is no room for Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. Ajinkya Rahane, despite his poor form, continues to stay in the side, while the opening group comprises of Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, and KL Rahul.

Here is the Indian squad for the South Africa Test series:

Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Parthiv Patel, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah.

Reason behind Virat Kohli’s daddy hundreds



Leave a Comment