Sri Lanka announces ODI squad for India series

sri lanka odi squad india

Sri Lanka on Tuesday announced their ODI squad to play 3-match series against India. Sri Lanka left out Test skipper Dinesh Chandimal from the squad even after he scored a crucial century to help his side in the third Test.

On the other hand, all-rounder Asela Gunaratne and opening batsman Danushka Gunathilaka return to the side. Thisara Perera, who was named one-day captain in place of Upul Tharanga, will lead the side.

Under Tharanga, Sri Lanka had a very poor year as they suffered three consecutive ODI whitewashes against South Africa, India and Pakistan.

Gunaratne returns to the side for the first time since being injured in July against India in Galle. His inclusion promises to strengthen the batting order alongside the former skipper Angelo Mathews, who is slaos returning to the side after injurt break.

Sri Lanka ODI squad:

Thisara Perera (capt), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Asela Gunaratne, Chathuranga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Akila Dananjaya, Jeffrey Vandersay, Dushmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep

> Mujeeb Zadran, the first male International cricketer from 21st century



Leave a Comment